Nikolas H. Emack for Cambridge School Committee 2017!

Dear Friends and Neighbors,

 

With the school year over, now is the best time to officially announce that I will be running for School Committee in Cambridge again in this upcoming election. While I came close to being elected in 2015, unfortunately I fell just short. I want to thank all 1,221 people who considered me their #1 choice for School Committee, and to all of those who volunteered and contributed to my campaign. All of you have inspired me to have the confidence to run again, so I can help ensure that the district is on the path to success.

 

Since the last election, I have had the pleasure of working with many communities throughout the city. As the building substitute for the Cambridgeport Elementary School, I’ve gotten to experience the school year from day 1 to day 180. Working with the students has been an exceptional experience for me, and I am thankful for the relationships I have built with the students, their families, and my coworkers. In addition I’ve been an active member in the out of school time community, both teaching at the Elm st. Community school, and running trainings with the Agenda for Children. My time working as a teacher and being part of multiple learning communities gives me a unique insight into the Cambridge school district. I want to take all of that experience and knowledge and apply it to School Committee.

 

While working as an educator in Cambridge, I’ve realized that despite our amazing school district, we can still build on this great work. I believe every voice in education deserves to be heard. Students, families, and teachers – every person involved in the schools needs to be listened to. We need School Committee members that are catalysts of communication around the issues that matter to their constituents. I believe that we need to have serious conversations around issues like high-stakes testing, educating the whole child, universal Pre-K, and having a culturally diverse staff that fully represents our students. It is impossible to have these conversations without properly engaging our constituents to get to the heart of the problem.

 

I plan to be out on the streets, talking with residents everyday, to get their input and listen to their concerns about the Cambridge Public Schools. While not every resident may have a connection to our schools, the success of our schools is important to every resident. Investing in our city’s education and students is investing in our city’s future.

 

I truly believe that I can get elected and make a difference, but I can’t do it without your help. If you are able and interested to volunteer for my campaign, please contact me at VoteNikolasEmack@gmail.com , or fill out this form here. Also, if you would like to donate to the campaign, please Click Here to Donate.

 

Over the next few months, I will keep you updated about my campaign through my websiteFacebook, Twitter, my blog and my newsletter (sign up for my newsletter here). I feel honored to have this opportunity to make a difference in Cambridge and I look forward to this process of engaging with the community on the campaign trail. Hope to see you out there!

 

Best Regards,

Nikolas H. Emack

Candidate for Cambridge School Committee

Leave a Reply

